School board receives statewide award

School board receives statewide “Board of Distinction” award
Posted on 11/13/2020
Anacortes School Board Members

The Anacortes School Board has been recognized by the Washington State School Directors Association (WSSDA) with its “Board of Distinction” award, highlighting the board’s focus on closing the achievement gap for students and commitment to community engagement. 

School board members are Bobbilyn Hogge, Marliyn Hanesworth, Jennie Beltramini, Matt Cutter, and Erin Rieger. Student board representatives are Sara Kumar, Cooper Nichols, Chloe Chambers, and Cassius Tossavainen. The board is now eligible for a “School Board of the Year” award, which will be announced at the upcoming WSSDA annual conference on November 19.  

This is the seventh time that Anacortes has been honored. Anacortes is one of only 12 districts statewide that have received the award five or more times. 


Twenty-five school boards statewide were named this year out of 295 districts. Anacortes and Mount Vernon were both recognized from Skagit County.

“This award represents the hard work of our district staff in making meaningful impacts on student achievement,” said Board President Bobbilyn Hogge. “As a board, we are committed to equitable outcomes for all students, as well as supporting our staff.” 

In its application, the board highlighted some of its 2019-2020 goals, including a review of special education curriculum, equity training for staff, and community engagement during the superintendent search process. The award recognizes work done during the 2019-2020 school year, much of which was completed prior to the current coronavirus pandemic. 

“The board’s focus on equity and academic excellence is one of the things that drew me to Anacortes,” said Superintendent Justin Irish. “I’ve been impressed by the hard work done so far, and I look forward to our continued focus on student achievement, even amidst the current pandemic.” 

Questions? Contact the Superintendent’s Office - 360-503-1211 or 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.