Text messaging - opt in now

Text messaging - opt in now
Posted on 12/04/2019
Mobile phone

The Anacortes School District uses text messaging as an additional communication tool to alert families and staff about closures and emergencies. 


What to do now? 

Confirm that your school has your accurate mobile phone number, if you want to receive text messages. Log into your Skyward Family Access Account. If your mobile number is not accurate, you can update your information through Skyward Family Access. 


If you don’t know your Skyward login, you can reset your password through Skyward Family Access. Click on “Forgot your login/ password?” This will prompt you to enter your email address to reset your password. The system will take 5-7 minutes to send you a new password. 


  1. Next steps 

Once you have verified that your mobile number is correct, you can “opt in” to receive the district’s notifications. 


  1. Text “Y” or “Yes” to 67587 to opt in or scan the QR code located on this flyer. More information on our text message system can be found here. Please opt in before Tuesday, December 10. 


  1. Text Message Test Day

The district will send a test text message on Tuesday, December 10 at 10 a.m. 


FAQs

Q. What if I want my student to receive text messages from the school? 

  1. You will need to provide their mobile number in your Skyward Family Access Account and your student will also need to opt in (text to 67587) from their mobile phone. 

Q. What kinds of messages will be communicated? 

  1. Currently, we only plan to communicate emergency and school closure information. 

Q. What if I don’t want to receive texts? Will I still know if school is closed? 

  1. The district will use texts in addition to its other methods of communication: Flash Alert, email, website, Facebook. 

Q. What if I decide that I no longer want to receive texts? 

  1. Text “stop” to 67587

Q. What if I opted in already? Do I need to do it again? 

  1. It won’t hurt to opt in again. If you don’t receive a test message on the 10th, contact the district office at 360-503-1211 or tramsay@asd103.org


School contacts: 

Anacortes High School: Carol Kirkpatrick - ckirkpatrick@asd103.org or (360) 503-1331

Cap Sante High School: Diele Harrold - dharrold@asd103.org or (360) 503-1365

Anacortes Middle School: Aimee Rudge - arudge@asd103.org or (360) 503-1232

Fidalgo Elementary: Kristie Calvert - kcalvert@asd103.org or (360) 503-1603

Island View Elementary: Heidi Parker - hparker@asd103.org or (360) 503-1489

Mt. Erie Elementary: Melissa Reeder - mreeder@asd103.org or (360) 503-1500

Whitney: Andrea Frost - afrost@asd103.org or (360) 503-1428



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.